Call for a Free Consultation for your Massachusetts case.
 (855) 941-0909

Why do I need to take a Parental Education Class before I can get a divorce in Massachusetts?

Here in Massachusetts, if you want to get a divorce and if there are minor children of the marriage, then both parties must take a court certified Parental Education Class before the divorce can be made final.

The class is offered through independent agencies but is certified by the Probate and Family Court system.  It’s a 6 hour class, broken up into 2 days of 3 hours each.

Spouses cannot attend the classes together.  They must take it on different days.

The Parental Education class teaches parents how to co-parent children together after a divorce.  They go through what should or should not be said to children and how to handle problems with children as a result of the divorce.  The class is usually ran by counselors or therapists.

At the end of the course, if you attend both classes, they will give you a certificate of attendance that’s a yellow piece of paper.  This certificate must be filed with the court to show proof that both parties attended.

Contact Details

Main Office:
One Adams Place,
859 Willard St #400
Quincy, MA 02169
Phone: (617) 250-8236

75 State Street, Floor 1
Boston, MA 02109
Phone: (617) 652-5748

75 Second Ave, Suite 605
Needham, MA 02494
Phone:(617) 209-2230

Infinity Law Group accepts Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and Apple Pay for all legal services.